Skip to main navigation
Skip to main content
Weaver to web

Source material: Council minutes

Halifax County Borough Council Minutes.The early form of township government progressed from the authority of the Lord of the Manor to that of local officials. The Township's Officers appointed by the parochial authority were the Churchwardens, the Constables, the Surveyors of Highways and the Overseers of the Poor. The Justices of the Peace occupied an important position, often working with the Townships Officers.

By the mid-eighteenth century the power of the Lord of the Manor had declined and new authorities evolved with bodies of Trustees which dealt with the administration. In 1837 the Overseers of Halifax received the warrant of the Poor Law Commissioners for the formation of the Halifax Union which consisted of nineteen townships.

These changes were largely the result of the tremendous growth of Halifax during the first half of the nineteenth century. The records of the Halifax Town Trustees covered the period from the Improvement Act of 1823 to the incorporation of the borough in 1848 when a Town Council was elected by the ratepayers.

Halifax Borough Council Minutes are extant from 1848 until 1973 after which the Calderdale Metropolitan Borough Council took over with minutes dating from 1973 to date.

In other areas of Calderdale the Local Authorities which changed in name over a period of time and from from boards to councils included:

  • Barkisland Local Board
  • Barkisland UDC
  • Brighouse Borough
  • Elland Local Board
  • Elland UDC
  • Greetland UDC
  • Halifax RDC
  • Hebden Bridge Local Board
  • Hebden Bridge Parish Council
  • Hebden Bridge UDC
  • Hebden Royd Parish Council
  • Hebden Royd Town Council
  • Hebden Royd UDC
  • Hepton RDC
  • Heptonstall Parish Council
  • Hipperholme Local Board
  • Hipperholme UDC
  • Luddenden Foot Local Board
  • Luddenden Foot UDC
  • Midgley Local Board
  • Midgley UDC
  • Mytholmroyd Local Board
  • Mytholmroyd UDC
  • Norland Local Board
  • Norland Parish Council
  • Northowram Local Board
  • Northowram UDC
  • Ovenden Local Board
  • Queensbury and Shelf UDC
  • Rastrick Local Board
  • Ripponden UDC
  • Rishworth Local Board
  • Shelf Local Board
  • Shelf UDC
  • Skircoat Parish Council
  • Southowram Local Board
  • Southowram UDC
  • Sowerby Local Board
  • Sowerby UDC
  • Sowerby Bridge Local Board
  • Sowerby Bridge UDC
  • Soyland UDC
  • Stainland UDC
  • Todmorden Local Board
  • Todmorden Rural Sanitary Authority
  • Todmorden RDC
  • Todmorden UDC
  • Todmorden Borough
  • Wadsworth Local Board
  • Warley Local Board
  • Warley UDC

back to source materials