Skip to main navigation
Skip to main content
Weaver to web

The towns of Calderdale

The Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale came into being on April 1st 1974 as a result of local government reorganisation. It replaced the following nine separate authorities: the County Borough of Halifax, the Boroughs of Brighouse and Todmorden, the Rural District of Hepton and the Urban Districts of Elland, Hebden Royd, Sowerby Bridge, Ripponden and Queensbury & Shelf.

Select from the list below for a brief introduction to the history of each of the towns of Calderdale.




Hebden Bridge

Sowerby Bridge