Skip to main navigation
Skip to main content
Weaver to web
Page 1 of 1
Brighouse Bridge, plaque

© Calderdale MBC

Enlarge image

Brighouse Bridge, plaque

Plaque commemorating the widening of Brighouse Bridge in 1905.

Author: Matthew Smith
Date: 31 January 2003
Location: Brighouse
Format: Photograph - Colour
Document ID: 102130
Library ID:

The Calder Bridge or Canal Bridge on the Bradford to Huddersfield turnpike road, now the Huddersfield Road, was opened in 1825, and widened in 1905.

The name of Brighouse, or bridge house, originally derives from a house which stood by Rastrick Bridge, a wooden bridge at Bridge End being recorded in 1275. In 1514 it was being rebuilt in wood, and in 1558 was reconstructed in stone.

Snake Hill Ford, near Birds Royd Lane, was an important river crossing across the Calder in Roman times, being on the route between Manchester and Wakefield.

back to search results