Skip to main navigation
Skip to main content
Weaver to web
Page 1 of 2
Views of the Union Cross Inn, the Castle, and Castle Carr

© Hendon Publishing Co Ltd.

Enlarge image

Next page

Views of the Union Cross Inn, the Castle, and Castle Carr

Old photographs taken from "Halifax As It Was."

Author: Arthur Porritt
Date: 1973
Location: Halifax
Format: Book Illustration
Document ID: 101252
Library ID: 34767437

p1: The sketch is by Arthur Comfort in 1912 of the Union Cross Inn, which is the town's oldest remaining public house. It is called this because the market cross was situated across the road. Still standing 2003.

p2: The Castle stood at the bottom of Crown Street, the clock originally came from the parish church tower. The small entrance at the side of the bookshop shown was an entrance to reading rooms, installed by Mr. Bolland. The ground floor was Swaine & Co. Commercial Bank. In 1932 Whitley & Booth Booksellers took over the building. Now demolished.

p3: Castle Carr was built in 1859 and was designed as a pseudo-Norman castle. Situated above Luddenden, it was used as a shooting lodge. The original owner Capt. Joseph Priestley Edwards was killed in 1868 before the castle was completed, his son finishing the building work in 1871. In 1962 the building was demolished after an auction of its structure and inside adornments. It was famous in its time for its water features and gardens, at one time boasting of a fountain taller than the one in Versailles. The land and what is left of the features, have been taken over by the Water Board. Access to the site is restricted, except on the annual open days.

For other related pages of Arthur Porritt's 1973 "Halifax As It Was", see documents:











back to search results