Skip to main navigation
Skip to main content
Weaver to web
Page 1 of 1
Back of Heath Hall

© Digital image copyright Calderdale Libraries

Enlarge image

Back of Heath Hall

Drawing of back of Heath Hall, Skircoat, Halifax, West Yorkshire.

Author: H.R. Oddy
Date: 1906
Location: Skircoat
Format: Drawing
Document ID: 100833
Library ID: 14313753

Drawing by H.R. Oddy of the back of Heath Hall. It was built in the 17th century by the Ramsden family and stood in Skircoat near Albert Park (originally named Heath Park). Later owned by Halifax Corporation and demolished to make way for the building of Heath Road and nearby Heath Estate. The last of the row of old trees in the picture, known as the Twelve Apostles, was later transferred to Albert Park.

Image taken from "The Yorkshire Coiners 1767-1783. And Notes on Old and Prehistoric Halifax" by H. Ling Roth, Honorary Curator of Bankfield Museum, Halifax. Published in Halifax in 1906 by F. King & Sons, Ltd.

Henry Raphael Oddy (1852 - 1907) produced landscapes, topographical and architectural pictures in watercolour, pastel and pencil. He was initially a carpet designer, and suffered long periods of paralysis of the limbs. He took up professional painting in 1890 and was a founder member of the Halifax Art Society. Brother-in-law to Halifax painter Richard E. Nicholson.

back to search results