School term dates

Calendar

The following term dates only apply to community, voluntary controlled and special schools.

Please note: Academy, foundation and voluntary aided schools set their own term dates and you should contact them for details.

2018/2019

  Autumn 2018 Spring 2019 Summer 2019
School re-opens Mon 3rd Sep Mon 7th Jan Mon 29th Apr
School closes: May Day n/a n/a Mon 6th May
School closes: half term Fri 26th Oct Fri 15th Feb Fri 24th May
School re-opens Mon 5th Nov Mon 25th Feb Mon 3rd June
School closes: end of term Fri 21st Dec Fri 12th Apr Mon 22nd July
Number of days 75 65 55
Total number of days: 195.

2019/2020

  Autumn 2019 Spring 2020 Summer 2020
School re-opens Mon 2nd Sep Mon 6th Jan Mon 20th Apr
School closes: May Day n/a n/a Mon 4th May
School closes: half term Fri 25th Oct Fri 14th Feb Fri 22nd May
School re-opens Mon 4th Nov Mon 24th Feb Mon 1st June
School closes: end of term Fri 20st Dec Fri 3rd Apr Mon 20th July
Number of days 75 60 60
Total number of days: 195.

Important note

Of the 195 days, five are to be pupil occasional holidays:

  • one of these must be polling day, if schools are closed due to the elections;
  • two of the five days may be disaggregated.
For more about this, please see: Holidays: term-time arrangements or contact the school: Search for schools .

Dates to remember

2018

  • Good Friday: Fri 30th Mar;
  • Polling Day: Thu 3rd May;
  • May Day: Mon 7th May.

2019

  • Good Friday: Fri 19th Apr;
  • Polling Day: Thu 2nd May;
  • May Day: Mon 6th May.

2020

  • Good Friday: Fri 10th Apr;
  • May Day: Mon 4th May;
  • Polling Day: Thu 7th May.

See also