Community and voluntary controlled primary schools and academies.

Places will be allocated in community and voluntary controlled primary schools in the following order of priority:

  1. Pupils who are in public care (children 'Looked After') or pupils who were previously looked after but ceased to be so because they became adopted or became subject to a child arrangements or special guardianship order immediately following having been looked after.

  2. Pupils who have a brother or sister (including step / half brothers and sisters) permanently resident in the same household and currently attending the school or its associated junior school (excluding pupils in their final year).

  3. Other children.


  1. A sibling link cannot be claimed where a sibling in receipt of a Statement of Special Educational Needs, or Education, Health and Care Plan, is attending a resourced unit within a mainstream primary school.

  2. If there is over-subscription within any category, then pupils will be admitted in the order of proximity of the pupil's permanent home to the school.

    Distance will be calculated using a straight line measurement from the pupil's permanent home to the nearest designated school gate.

    Distances will be calculated using the Local Authority's GIS (Geographical Information System). To ensure consistency, all measurements will be carried out by this method and no other method of measuring distance will be considered.

    Each property has a coordinate taken from Ordnance Survey ADDRESS-POINT data. This is the point from which distance measurements will be taken.

  3. If two or more children live an equal distance from the school (as measured in note ii above), the decision will be made using random allocation.

  4. In voluntary controlled schools, no account is taken of church membership or affiliation.

The oversubscription criteria for Community and Voluntary Controlled schools also applies in respect of some academies.

The academies within Calderdale which share this oversubscription criteria are:

  • Akroydon Primary Academy;
  • Beech Hill School;
  • Bolton Brow Primary Academy;
  • Bradshaw Primary School;
  • Burnley Road Academy;
  • Mount Pellon Primary Academy;
  • Scout Road Academy;
  • The Greetland Academy.


See also