Modern Day Slavery

Modern Day Slavery: Fighting Human Trafficking and all forms of Exploitation

The Modern Day Slavery Act came into force in the UK in July 2015.

The act consolidates the current offences relating to trafficking and slavery.

Key areas:

  • creates two new civil orders to prevent modern slavery;
  • establishes an Anti-Slavery Commissioner;
  • makes provision for the protection of modern slavery victims.

Types of modern day slavery include:

  • human trafficking;
  • child trafficking;
  • debt bondage;
  • forced labour;
  • sexual exploitation;
  • criminal exploitation;
  • domestic servitude.


The Council’s Responsibility

There is now a statutory requirement on Councils to notify the National Crime Agency of trafficked individuals. This is done via the National Referral Mechanism (NRM), for adults and children.

How you can help – spot the signs

Signs of slavery are often hidden, making it even harder to recognise victims around us. There are some common signs which you can be aware of:

  • physical appearance;
  • isolation;
  • poor living conditions;
  • few or no personal effects;
  • restricted freedom of movement;
  • unusual travel times;
  • reluctant to seek help.

How to Report

The National Referral Mechanism (NRM) is a Home Office process. Through this, identified potential victims of modern slavery, includes human trafficking, gain access to a number of support services.


Calderdale Council Points of Contact

If you want to speak to someone before the NRM, your first point of contacts in this Council are:

For children please contact:


If you feel it is an emergency, a threat to life or criminal activity you should phone 999.


Further information and links to other policies


See also