Election information


The Council is currently made up of 51 councillors with 3 councillors representing each of the 17 wards . At each local council election one councillor is elected for each ward to serve on the council for four years. Local council elections are held annually in three years out of every four. In the fourth year there are no local council elections.

Parish council elections are held every 4 years and all the parish councillors are elected each time.

At European elections Calderdale falls within the Yorkshire and the Humber Region. Elections are held every 5 years and the Region elects 6 members to the European Parliament.

There are 2 Parliamentary constituencies within Calderdale - Calder Valley County constituency and Halifax Borough constituency. Each constituency elects one member to Parliament. A Parliamentary election must be held once in every 5 years.

See Local MPs and MEPs .

Last Updated: 08/04/2016